I have the windows of my office open on this gorgeous day.  I just heard a car alarm sound, but as I listened, the sound became more distant.  It is likely someone just stole a vehicle and brazenly drove down West State Street, alarm sounding like it ain’t no thang.

This occurrence reminds me of my eldest brother’s many car woes.  In 1996, I was in 6th grade, my Co-Bag of Jerk sister was in 4th.  Our brother, with his newly granted driving privileges, had recently purchased a Nissan 300ZX.  It was white and had a T-top.  The only problem was the car’s alarm system.  On more than one occasion, the car’s alarm would sound without any provocation.  One spring day in 1996, my Co-Bag of Jerk and I were walking the several blocks home from the bus stop when we heard it:  the undeniable sound of the Nissan 300ZX coming down the street, horn blaring at regular intervals.  We kept our heads down and kept walking.  The Nissan slowed to a roll beside us as our brother yelled out the window over the sound of the horn “You guys want a ride home?”  “No, thanks,” was our reply.  Even at the ages of 11 and 9, we’d rather take the shoe leather express than let the neighbors see us get into that embarrassment.

One fateful night, not long after that event, the alarm system met its demise as our brother, fed up, yanked the alarm system wiring out of the vehicle.  ~AKH

