This weekend I learned several meanings for the word burn.

Incidence #1.  On my drive home from work Friday afternoon, I was cruising the streets of Trenton with total disregard for energy efficiency as I had both the AC on and my car windows open.  My car was roasting after sitting in the blazing sun all day and in my opinion, this is the best way to cool down the car.  So with Carly Rae Jepsen blasting from my speakers, I came to a stop at an intersection that is home of New Family Liquors.  As I awaited a green light, some hoodlum approached my car.
Hoodlum:  “Yo, I got that good burn.”

Me:  “Burn?”

Hoodlum:  “Yeah.  Weed.”

Me:  “OH! pppffffHA!  no.”

What made this hoodlum think I was looking to score some drugs, I’ll never know.  One would have thought Carly Rae Jepsen would be clue enough that I wasn’t interested, not to mention the fact that I needed him to explain the wares he was peddling.

Incidence #2.  Later in the weekend, I singed my forehead with a straightening iron, essentially killing my skin cells so that a diagonal black line punctuates my forehead until I can grow some new skin.  This burn is much different from what my hoodlum friend had in mind. ~AKH

